The Bridport Prize

the Bridport Prize | poems | short stories | flash fiction

The Bridport Prize International Creative Writing Competition was founded in 1973 and has steadily grown in stature and prestige. Today many thousands of entries are received from over 80 countries.

In 2006 Fay Weldon agreed to become Patron of the Bridport Prize and notable previous judges include Margaret Drabble, Jo Shapcott, Rose Tremain, U A Fanthorpe, Andrew Motion, Lavinia Greenlaw, Carol Ann Duffy, Ali Smith and Jane Gardam.

Mention the Bridport Prize and the eyes of writers everywhere light up. It’s not just the money – though that’s not to be sneezed at – it’s a prize really worth fighting for in terms of prestige and genuine literary accomplishment” Fay Weldon CBE, patron of the Bridport Prize

To find out more about the Bridport Prize visit