The Bridport Prize

logo 2





Mention the Bridport Prize and the eyes of writers everywhere light up. It’s not just the money – though that’s not to be sneezed at – it’s a prize really worth fighting for in terms of prestige and genuine literary accomplishment
Fay Weldon CBE, Honorary Patron of the Bridport Prize

The Bridport Prize is an international creative writing competition established in 1973 by the Arts Centre’s founder Peggy Chapman-Andrews.

Today it is BAC’s flagship project raising vital funds for our work. With categories in poetry, short stories, flash fiction and the opening chapters of a novel – and top prizes of £5,000 -the competition annually attracts many thousands of entries from across the globe.

The Bridport Prize 2016

Our judges this year are Patience Agbabi for poetry, Tessa Hadley for short stories, Tim Stevenson for flash fiction and Kerry Young for novel extracts.

The competition for 2016 was launched in November and will close on May 31 2016. Writers can submit entries online at or download a postal entry form at

Postal entry forms are also available at Bridport Arts Centre or by sending an SAE to The Bridport Prize, PO Box 6910, Bridport, Dorset DT6 9BQ

The 2016 competition results will be announced at the Prize-giving on Saturday 15 October 2016.

To find out more about the Bridport Prize visit



Hadley, Tessa NEW 2015 (c) Mark_Vessey 2015 (3) Patience Agbabi with Telling Tales photographer Lyndon Douglas courtesy Renaissance One







Top left to right – Tim Stevenson – Flash Fiction Judge & Tessa Hadley – Short Story Judge

Bottom: Patience Agbabi – Poetry Judge